What should I do my masters in - public health or drug discovery?

Watch
bioenthusiast
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 months ago
So I'm in my final year of a biomedical degree, and am thinking about my next steps. I think I want to do a masters, but I am genuinely torn between two options.

One that appeals to me is a Masters in Public Health. I actually do enjoy looking at trends in health etc as well as interventions, and whilst the degree wouldn't be as 'hardcore scientific' like biomed, it is definitely something I am looking into. Only thing with this is job prospects - are they good? I am aware PHE (Public Health England) has been scrapped somewhat by the government and merged, will this still allow opportunities in that field? And what other roles are there in public health that aren't necessarily at a governmental level like PHE? I guess with the current pandemic, public health is something that is very big right now.

Another course I am strongly considering is drug discovery/pharmacology. I have really enjoyed my pharmacology modules during my undergrad, and I find the whole field so interesting and exciting. It excites me to think of a career looking at the development of new drugs. But again what are the job prospects like with this?

I genuinely can't decide, so I'd be grateful if people who have studied - or have a career - in both of these fields could give me some advice on what it's like to study and work in public health and/or drug discovery!
UniversityOfSunderland
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago
(Original post by bioenthusiast)
So I'm in my final year of a biomedical degree, and am thinking about my next steps. I think I want to do a masters, but I am genuinely torn between two options.