FieryStar21
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I was initially applying for medicine but then I changed my mind and thought biochem was more suited for me. Yet, I don't have any relevant work experience for biochem e.g. working in a lab, I've only got HR in hospital, working with elderly and special needs children and at a charity shop. I've got quite a few extra circular activities such as speech and drama, prefects, Carnatic vocal, badminton, Med Ethics. I feel like I dont have much to talk about when it comes to academic interests, like I'm doing an EPQ on euthanasia but that's all i have.Could someone help me out? I'm applying this November.Thanks!
soph2903
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hi, I'm studying biochemistry i'm actually in my final year now. I was the same as you when applying and changed what course I wanted to do multiple times before deciding on biochemistry. I'm going to be honest and say don't worry about work experience, I had no work experience in the field when I was applying and I would say that the majority of people won't have work experience related to biochemistry. Does your course state that you need work experience and is an interview required for your application? One thing I will say that I think will help a lot is if you get the chance to do a placement year on your course then you should 100% do it, you will gain so much experience from that one year and it will look really good on job applications in the future as you will have some professional experience to talk about.
soph2903
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by soph2903)