medicalstudent20
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hey Guys ,

I am a British medical graduate , just graduated from Bulgaria , gonna get my GMC number hopefully in January ( 6 years course).
I am currently really interested in neurosurgery , could someone walk me thro the process. I was an average medical student so I'm not sure what my chances are.
does anyone know how do they choose the applicants for ST.

Many Thanks.
ecolier
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by medicalstudent20)
... I was an average medical student so I'm not sure what my chances are.
Pretty low. Have you done any neurosurgery related additional things?

Publications / presentations / audits etc. etc.?

If not you'll need to be prepared to take a gap year (or several) to locum in the specialty to gain the experience and the contacts.

It's not impossible but it is hard.

Last year, 154 applicants competed for 24 spaces. Competition ratio was 6.54 to 1.

does anyone know how do they choose the applicants for ST.

Many Thanks.
Have a look here: https://www.yorksandhumberdeanery.nh...t3_recruitment

The personal specification is here: https://specialtytraining.hee.nhs.uk...ST1%202021.pdf
medicalstudent20
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by ecolier)
Pretty low. Have you done any neurosurgery related additional things?

Publications / presentations / audits etc. etc.?

If not you'll need to be prepared to take a gap year (or several) to locum in the specialty to gain the experience and the contacts.

It's not impossible but it is hard.

Last year, 154 applicants competed for 24 spaces. Competition ratio was 6.54 to 1.

Have a look here: https://www.yorksandhumberdeanery.nh...t3_recruitment

The personal specification is here: https://specialtytraining.hee.nhs.uk...ST1%202021.pdf
Thank you for your reply.
I haven't done any of the things you have mentioned as i just graduated this month.