MSc Computer Science (conversion course) - 2021/2022

Watch
ladams
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Thread to discuss application to conversion style MSc Computer Science courses for degrees starting in 2021.

Previous years:
2018/2019
2019/2020

I am a doctor with some experience in web and app development as well as a bit of SQL/Python/Java for smaller projects. Interested in MedTech/DataSci.
AndyChow
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Imperial:
£15,500 -> £18,500 *New for 2020! £80 Application fee introduced!

UCL:
£13,500 -> £16,000

Oxford
Computing course rebranded to Advanced Computing, no longer accepting conversion students

What a horrible year
AndyChow
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
These kinds of courses are oversubscribed because people from every subject wanted to join the lucrative CS industry. This gave leverage to IC/UCL to scalp domestic students a big one this year, for a low budget course that teaches nothing more than basic stuff you can buy on Udemy for £10.

Was thinking about gaining some computer science skills in case I lose my job in the future but for this price...yeah I'm sticking to my current job
sonal7
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
I didnt think in CS you need a degree, its all work experience. Jobs, Gates and Zuck dont have degrees or are drop out. I find that interesting. I am wondering as some of you might have CS degress, please would you put a list of all your undergrad reading list? A snapshot might be good.
AndyChow
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by sonal7)
I didnt think in CS you need a degree, its all work experience. Jobs, Gates and Zuck dont have degrees or are drop out. I find that interesting. I am wondering as some of you might have CS degress, please would you put a list of all your undergrad reading list? A snapshot might be good.