The Student Room Group

Is there a teacher bias towards UCAS preidcted grades in Independent Schools?

Hello,

I have been working on my UCAS for 2021 entry application. So basically I got awarded my predicted grades back in September (1 st day back) and they were BCD for Maths, Physics, Chemistry.

Our grades were awarded on the basis of just the Online Exam qe did during lockdown in May/June. Although, the teachers kept saying its evidence based and on professional judgement, they just awarded the final predicted grades based on an Online Lockdown Exam where it was highly likely and did happen where in students cheated on their exam.

In my Physics Lockdown Exam, I handed in my paper late by just half and hour as there were issues with the internet and printer at my home. I admit I forgot to tell the teacher and update her, but who uses their phone and computer and gets distracted when doing an important exam that has the greatest and only impact when doing an Online Exam?

So after that, things got rifty and the subject teacher assumed that since I had handed in my Exam to her late via Online, she thought I clearly cheated.

She asked me to sit the exam again amidst all the Coronavirus Crisis impact that everyone is and has faced in all aspects in our lives. In that exam, I scored a C/D in that exam. When I asked them what the predicted grade for my Physics will be? They didnt say anything. Instead they just instructed and forced the Maths and Chemistry Department and claimed and accused me that I cheated on that exam. However, that was not true.

After that, I was asked by the Maths Department and forced by them to sit the same AS Exam on Maths face to face and to whivh I had to agree. In that paper, I scored a B compared to my Online Exam which I had scored an A*.