SimonC1986
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Good evening all,

I was wondering if I could seek opinions on a path to a PhD in Law. My background is:
- LLB(Hons) degree 2-2 grade
- PGDip in International Law
- 10 years employment in a (partially) relevant field
- Currently studying towards a taught MA (with a significant research component)

The sticking point is obviously my 2-2 degree (I wish I could go back and kick my younger self but it is as it is!). My plan at present is:
- Complete my current Masters course (MA)
- Try and obtain entry into a Law PhD programme (self funded).

Does this sound at all viable? I have sounded out a few Universities on the LLM entry and think that is achievable with what I have got. But it really is question of whether this path will make me a 'credible candidate' for a PhD?

Any guidance would be very much appreciated.
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by SimonC1986)
Good evening all,

I was wondering if I could seek opinions on a path to a PhD in Law. My background is:
- LLB(Hons) degree 2-2 grade
- PGDip in International Law
- 10 years employment in a (partially) relevant field
- Currently studying towards a taught MA (with a significant research component)

The sticking point is obviously my 2-2 degree (I wish I could go back and kick my younger self but it is as it is!). My plan at present is:
- Complete my current Masters course (MA)
- Try and obtain entry into a Law PhD programme (self funded).

Does this sound at all viable? I have sounded out a few Universities on the LLM entry and think that is achievable with what I have got. But it really is question of whether this path will make me a 'credible candidate' for a PhD?

Any guidance would be very much appreciated.