bfg2001
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hey everyone, this is my first post so sorry if this is in the wrong category.

I'm currently studying Psychology, I am three weeks into my first year. I'm unsure whether the course is right for me, since I'm struggling on the first essay. I'm considering going to a different university to study English instead, however I'm unsure if this is the right thing to do.

Firstly, this is only the first essay, so it will be new to me. If I switch courses, I won't be giving myself a chance to improve. Secondly, if I do switch courses, I'm afraid I will be too behind at this point, even though I do have prior knowledge of English terminology. Thirdly, with everything being online now, it is more difficult and not what I expected, and also I've had a six month break from education since the college course I was doing before entering uni was cut short due to the pandemic.

However, at the back of my mind, I'm thinking, what if I keep on struggling? As of right now, I have the idea of sticking at Psychology for the first year, and if it doesn't work out, I switch to English. I'm just unsure of what would be best and would appreciate any advice.

EDIT: I'm studying in Wales, forgot to mention!
Last edited by bfg2001; 4 weeks ago
ashtolga23
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hey, I want to preface this by saying that I’m in Year 13 so perhaps not knowledgeable on the process here, but I was drawn to your post because I also changed my mind from psychology to English last month, and had to redo all my UCAS stuff lol.

I think you’re right that this may be a hasty decision. Most people struggle in the transition to university from what I’ve heard, so I’d give yourself time to settle in if psychology is what you’d prefer to be doing. Like you say, this year has been especially strange for education, and so it may just be you need to settle in to the academic environment again.