Is a job in museum curation possible?

Watch
crimsonclover
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
So I’m in my third year of uni studying psychology, and while I have enjoyed it, I do wish I’d done history as that is my true passion. I’ve come to the conclusion that my dream job would be in museum curation. I was just wondering how feasible this would be with a psychology degree? From my understanding I could do a masters in museum studies and obtain work experience in museums, however I know that museum curation is very competitive and jobs can be hard to come by, and those who do get jobs tend to have a degree in art history/history/archeology. Do I have a real chance of getting a job in this field? No other job appeals to me like museum curation does.
bleusialia
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hello crimsonclover, I'm sort of on a similar dilemma, trying to change my career path after realizing that the sort of life that STEM researchers have, -like spending a lot of time in a lab- is just not what I feel am good at. One of my friends told me that maybe a more managerial job would allow me to build what they call transferable skills and get wherever I want. By what I've read so far, a curatorial job also involves creating this sort of dialog between areas so I think that you shouldn't feel discouraged to follow that pathway coming from psychology, I'd actually find it interesting!... I think that if art is your passion, you'll ace at it, and who knows, maybe in the future you can become the founder of your own art gallery Good luck.
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by crimsonclover)