Nimra Noor
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
Hi,

I have recently started A levels with Oxbridge Home Learning.
I am new in Uk so I don't know much about the exam system in Uk.
Could anyone kindly help me by providing an explanation about when do you have to give exams for your A levels?
What will be the time gap between Paper 1, Paper 2, and Paper 3?
What are the exams like in the UK; Are they more conceptual questions or is it more about definitions and theory etc?
simonmorrish
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
Hi.

Welcome to the UK! Despite some bad publicity in recent years, I think and hope you will find most people here to be, open-minded, kind and welcoming.

In England, A level exams in school are all taken together at the end of two years' study. But I'm not familiar with Oxbridge Home Learning - ask them to confirm that yours will be like this. For questions, the best idea is for you to look at some past papers to see the style of question: Find out which exam board publishes the course you are being taught. Then Google the exam board and find your A Levels. From there, you will be able to download the specification (list of what you must learn) and some past papers and solutions.

I hope that helps!
Compost
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
A Level exams are available (normally) only once a year in the Summer and most people take about 2 years to complete the course. The entry deadline is in February before that Summer. All the exams (the number per A level varies between subjects but is most commonly 3) have to be taken in the same exam season - the exams are likely to be spread over 1-3 weeks.

AS the other poster has said, it would be a good diea to find some past papers to see what sort of questions you will get. what subjects and exam boards are you taking?
Nimra Noor
Rep:
?
(Original post by simonmorrish)
Hi.