Honest Opinion: International Students Job Aspect After MSc. Psych Conversion in UK

Watch
NowhereMan.111
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 months ago
Hey!!
Hope all is well at your end. I am planning to do MSc. Psychology Conversion. I'll be applying for the accredited BPS course in the UK. As an international student, I am more inclined to opt for universities which are offering accredited course rather than the prestige as most prestigious universities are having twice the tuition fee for international applicants.
I have seen and read a lot about the competitiveness attached to psychology as a career. Nevertheless, I would like to pursue it. It is one such stream where I don't feel any compulsion to involve myself.

As I understood, In order to become an independent clinical psychologist, I'll need to gain some work experience after graduation preferably as an assistant psychologist which in itself a very tough criterion to fulfil. But I am willing to opt for other jobs which will at least provide a ground to stand after graduation and to work my way through.

I would like to have your opinions about the viability of becoming a clinical psychologist for an international student and to practice in the UK. I came across the news that the UK Govt. have allowed two years of extended stay after completion of the degree to find a job in the UK. Considering the practical scenario, is it a futile attempt to even think to about opting for this course?
How much hard it is to land a job for an international student? I am asking this as I have read a few articles stating that the employers are unwilling to hire international students and prefer localities or EU citizens to avoid procedural aspects, etc.
I would like to know, with the MSc. Psych Conversion, will I at least find an entry level job and slowly make my way around?

Psychology Study
psychology
madeofcolour
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago