JessieG18
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
Hi everyone,
Soon I’ll have to write an essay for my EPQ, and I want to base it around maths. I would like some suggestions on some unique topics that would enable me to write a good essay. I want to do a maths degree, and I think doing the dissertation on a maths topic would help me to get into university.
Any suggestions are appreciated ( I’m an AS student to give an idea of the level)
Thank you
mqb2766
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
(Original post by JessieG18)
Hi everyone,
Soon I’ll have to write an essay for my EPQ, and I want to base it around maths. I would like some suggestions on some unique topics that would enable me to write a good essay. I want to do a maths degree, and I think doing the dissertation on a maths topic would help me to get into university.
Any suggestions are appreciated ( I’m an AS student to give an idea of the level)
Thank you
Any particular focus: history, application, calculus, complex, geometry, education, ....
_gcx
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
i did a maths epq but it's probably beyond what most people would want to do.

What sort of topics are you interested in?
bluebeetle
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
Hi everyone,
Thank you
Knot Theory is a really fascinating topic that isn't taught until university, but can be quite accessible for A-level students compared to some other university topics.

Or you could look into some aspect of maths history. Mesopotamian maths is really interesting to look into, as they counted in a different base to us and also were quite mathematically advanced for their time period.

Another popular topic that comes up at university but is accessible for A-level students is cryptography and code-breaking.
JessieG18
Rep:
?
Honestly, I quite like all aspects but I have enjoyed matrices recently. Or maybe something to do with history would be interesting.
JessieG18
Rep:
?
(Original post by bluebeetle)