I am failing university (please help!)

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I suffer with quite bad mental health issues that have been affecting my university studies like depression, BDD etc

I am currently on week 5 of university (doing computer science), and guess what, I have hardly revised since university started. Each week takes roughly 40 hours to complete (10 hours for each module) and there are weekly assignments which contribute 1% to your final grade and I have been failing most of them

I have coursework due in, in a week which is worth 25% of your final mark and it's java related. As I have hardly revised I would need to catch up with 50 hours of revision in a week on top of all the other module work; I have no prior java knowledge which makes it even worse

And it's not even like 'just work in small chunks' because either I do no revision or like 6-10 hours as 30 minutes a day wouldn't be enough, I have heaps of hours to catch up on with deadlines

I just don't know what to do anymore, my family are so so upset with me and said if I fail they will kick me out of the house

what do I do?
Anonymous #2
Report 1 month ago
Hii there, I am so sorry for what you are going through. But you did a great thing in trying to reach out for help and I really admire the courage you have.

So the first thing you have to work on is your coursework that's about to due. Try seeking help from your lecturers or peers. You can just confess to your lecturer that you aren't catching up due to some problems (whether you would like to/not clarify what it is) and you would need some help with this work. And before this, I would really encouraged you to try out on your own first, starting with the basics of java for a few days (say 2/3?) before you ask for help from someone else. This will definitely help a lot for you will be able to grasp the idea better when you seek help from them.