The Student Room Group

Self-teaching French GCSE

Hey guys, is there any free apps or sources I can use to help with my French learning? I’m self-taught, so anything will be appreciated!

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by TheSpicyTriangle
Hey guys, is there any free apps or sources I can use to help with my French learning? I’m self-taught, so anything will be appreciated!

duolingo is quite good but get a gcse textbook. It'll be most useful
Lingvist helped me a lot with vocab and listening to words which helped with listening, speaking and reading.

CGP revision guide will help with grammar elements etc and set vocab lists are available on exam board site (you can also use quizlet to help with learning all the vocab that may come up).

Its also really important to have a good understanding of tenses (including the subjunctive if you want to push up grades) so maybe search up some set phrases on TES, there should be some free resources you can download !!!
The CGP GCSE French workbook is great for practicing, especially the translations, as you can test yourself on vocab, grammar and translation all at once! Other than that, HelloTalk is good for practicing conversation (as long as you keep general internet safety in mind) and lawless French (website) is good for getting your head around grammar! I'm not hugely keen on duolingo, tbh, but it's ok for days when you can't or don't want to do any proper French work!

How are you planing to sit this GCSE?

I suggest getting some CGP revision books and trying Duolingo and Quizlet.
I'm quite good at french and I know beyond my year level of french- been studying it since year 3 (I'm in y9 now) so if u ever need any help on revision for french my PMS are always open
Reply 6