HayleyMoo85
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi there, I’m currently filling in my ucas 2021 application and would like to clarify eligibility for funding of my choices. I hold a degree in English and would like to apply for uni for a second degree to study dental hygiene and therapy (I am not registered in the field). My choices are;
Bristol- dental hygiene and therapy (3yr BSc Hons)

Leeds- dental Hygiene and therapy (3yr BSc Hons)

Newcastle- oral and dental health sciences (dental hygiene and therapy)(3yr BSc Hons)

Teeside- dental hygiene and dental therapy (3yr BSc Hons)

And my remaining choice is between the following two;
Portsmouth-dental hygiene and dental therapy (3yr BSc Hons)

Essex- oral health science (2 yr FdSc)

Can you please confirm if all of the above courses qualify as an exception course? They all lead to being a registered dental hygienist and therapist apart from Essex, which leads to being a registered hygienist (without the therapist qualification). Also, if the Essex course does qualify, would I at a later date after completion of the course be eligible for funding to do the BSc Oral Health Science course at Essex, which is a one year course that tops up the FdSc to include dental therapy. So it would be a 2 year FdSc followed by a 1 year BSc and allow me to register as both a dental hygienist and therapist. I ask this because I would like to be both a hygienist and therapist but if funding won’t cover the courses being split in two like that I will make Portsmouth one of my choices instead.

Many thanks,

Hayley.
SFE Isaac
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by HayleyMoo85)
Hi there, I’m currently filling in my ucas 2021 application and would like to clarify eligibility for funding of my choices. I hold a degree in English and would like to apply for uni for a second degree to study dental hygiene and therapy (I am not registered in the field). My choices are;