Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Basically i'm almost 24 and don't have my license and can't drive. Mostly it's cause i was living away by 17 and moved a couple times, didn't have the intention to get a car so put off lessons. I took a few soon before lockdown, but can't really afford anymore but want to get my license within the year... i'm studying now and part time job which is really low pay and wouldnt cover my lessons

I have my provisional license, the last instructor said i wasn't ready to be practising in my parents car with them there, we'd only had about 3 lessons.

Do you think i could learn from a parent in preparation for lessons if i can afford them later on? any suggestions on where to go given my total beginners level?
Admit-One
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Sounds like you won’t be able to run a car anytime soon, why the rush?

Parents, broadly speaking, are not good teachers, especially for beginners. They’re not patient and not experienced in explaining things in different ways if you don’t ‘get’ something which they take for granted.

I would honestly just save for proper lessons.
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by Admit-One)
Sounds like you won’t be able to run a car anytime soon, why the rush?

Parents, broadly speaking, are not good teachers, especially for beginners. They’re not patient and not experienced in explaining things in different ways if you don’t ‘get’ something which they take for granted.

I would honestly just save for proper lessons.
It's been bothering me for a while that i'm this age and can't drive... i think it's a basic essential life skill and feel really incompetent. especially when people ask if i can drive. it would also be really handy now since ive moved back home in the middle of nowhere
Xarao
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago