do i have to take american sat if i have done my gcses and a levels

Watch
coycoyy
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
if i want to attend a private 4 year college in america, (i am a british student taking a levels and gcses) am i required to take an sat test to get accepted or will they just look at my results from gcses and a levels? thanks
study=depression
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by coycoyy)
if i want to attend a private 4 year college in america, (i am a british student taking a levels and gcses) am i required to take an sat test to get accepted or will they just look at my results from gcses and a levels? thanks
You need to do the SAT. That's what my school has told me.
coycoyy
Rep:
?
(Original post by study=depression)
You need to do the SAT. That's what my school has told me.
thank you!
ry7xsfa
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
I don't know what year you are currently in.

For this year most (if not all) colleges have dropped their requirement for the SAT or ACT due to COVID-19, and a lot of colleges also won't require it next year. I believe a small number of colleges may have entended this policy to a year after that too.

Normally though, you'd have to take the ACT or SAT to get into a US university. Some universities may also require you to take SAT Subject Tests. Some universities are test-optional though, meaning that you do not have to submit test scores if you do not wish to. Just because a school is test-optional though, it doesn't mean they aren't still highly competitive and every other part of your application will need to be at a high standard.

In general, it's best to check each individual university's policy on which tests they require for international applicants.
coycoyy
Rep:
?
(Original post by ry7xsfa)
I don't know what year you are currently in.