Asked lecturer for reference - have had no reply

Watch
blossomx
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I asked my dissertation supervisor from when I was at university (I graduated last year) to be an academic reference for my PhD apps and she has not replied. I sent a reminder after 8 days and have still not had a reply. I know it's really busy for academics, especially with COVID.

It's now three weeks until the deadline, is that enough time to ask someone else? I'm worried as the only lecturer I can now think to ask is a lecturer who doesn't know me very well and won't be able to speak about my suitability for research.

I'm really stressed out over this. I've put so much effort into applications and feel like it's been a waste of time, sorry I know I'm over-reacting but I'm just worried.
Keele University
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by blossomx)
I asked my dissertation supervisor from when I was at university (I graduated last year) to be an academic reference for my PhD apps and she has not replied. I sent a reminder after 8 days and have still not had a reply. I know it's really busy for academics, especially with COVID.

It's now three weeks until the deadline, is that enough time to ask someone else? I'm worried as the only lecturer I can now think to ask is a lecturer who doesn't know me very well and won't be able to speak about my suitability for research.

I'm really stressed out over this. I've put so much effort into applications and feel like it's been a waste of time, sorry I know I'm over-reacting but I'm just worried.