Accommodation won't let me move flats

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'm currently a third year placement student sharing a flat with all first years and since September they've been inviting people over and having flat parties until around 6am every other day. I'm unable to sleep from how loud the noise is and I have to wake up at 7am for work (I work 9-5 for the NHS mon-fri). I usually get around 3/4 hours of sleep a night if I'm lucky.

I asked the receptionist at my accommodation if I could move flats and she asked why and I explained the above. She then told me that it's not a good enough reason to move flats due to covid, even though I have to pay a fee to move flats that covers cleaning anyway. She then said that technically as I hadn't reported anything to security there hasn't been any noise going on in my flat.

The problem is that I can't report them to security without them seeing me as they usually hang out in the corridor during their gatherings and would see me leave the flat to go report them to security who would then issue them a warning or whatever. I don't really want beef with my flatmates as I've experienced it before and didn't enjoy it so I don't really want to report them to security and would've just preferred to move to a quieter flat or something.

I know that with first years they're missing out on freshers so I don't mind that they want to party and drink but it's just too much for me personally as it's so often. I don't want to necessarily stop them from having their fun and it would be easier for me to just leave the situation than to intervene their uni social life I guess.

Is my accommodation allowed to just refuse to let me move flats even though it's for a genuine reason and affecting my day-to-day life?
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago