A levels for Astrophysics degree/masters

Watch
_jameswatson_
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hey, I am a year 11 student at the moment and am choosing A Levels. My hopes for my future is to go into astrophysics and i would like to choose suitable A Levels for that area.

So far, i am certain that I will be taking maths, further maths and physics. However, i am stuck on a 4th one.
The ones which i am most likely to take are:
- Computer Science because coding is useful for going into astrophysics. I am experienced with python but it may help to take this one
- Chemistry because i think that it would help as well when doing research
- History because it helps with the essay writing side of the area. Also it would help show the universities what other skills i am capable of

I enjoy all of the subjects above and i get good grades in them all. Please post if you have any advice please

(P.S there was an old discussion on this but since it was 7 years ago i wanted to see what the modern opinions are haha)
Last edited by _jameswatson_; 4 weeks ago
Moana92
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
I'm no expert but I would imagine that physics may be quite important for astrophysics given the course title? Your best bet is to research Universities that offer that course and look at their entry requirements - that will give you an idea of what you need to do
Laurence00
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by _jameswatson_)
Hey, I am a year 11 student at the moment and am choosing A Levels. My hopes for my future is to go into astrophysics and i would like to choose suitable A Levels for that area.

So far, i am certain that I will be taking maths, further maths and physics. However, i am stuck on a 4th one.
- Computer Science because coding is useful for going into astrophysics. I am experienced with python but it may help to take this one