Uni life during COVID-19 and social anxiety

Watch
Becca_studiesxo
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi guys, I don’t know If a lot of people will be able to relate to this, but as someone who experiences social anxiety in a classroom setting PRE covid, finding the courage to participate in these stilted video calls on Microsoft team classrooms is very challenging.

I know it’s just me in my room but to speak on a mic for 30-50 people listening to my voice is even more nerve wracking than in person. I’m a Scottish student and just finished my HND at College this past year and now the end of this year I have started 3rd year university in the course social sciences at aberdeen.

I feel so sad and frustrated with myself because I love my course and the topics we cover. Sometimes I have a lot to say but I can’t get involved because my nerves win over. I so badly want to get involved and I wish this could happen on campus however due to covid everything is online so instead of sharing flat with new people and meeting new friends in Aberdeen I’m stuck miles away and I can’t even see the faces of people on my course because we all keep our cameras off.

I feel this makes how I feel worse. I feel isolated and anxious on a seminar. At the start it was okay I spoke a bit and introduced myself made chit chat but now I’m like stuck in this cycle I can’t get out of.

Anyone relate and have a shared experience? Or is there anyone out there who is particularly good at overcoming this and can share advice?

Anything Other than your average born confident ‘just speak?’ Philosophy cause I am growing tired of that lol.
Anonymous #1
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Becca_studiesxo)
Hi guys, I don’t know If a lot of people will be able to relate to this, but as someone who experiences social anxiety in a classroom setting PRE covid, finding the courage to participate in these stilted video calls on Microsoft team classrooms is very challenging.