is my salary enough to buy/rent my first property

Watch
poohead23
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hi,

I'm currently in my final year of university. I secured a graduate role that pays 40k when I finish uni and was wondering if this salary is enough to rent/purchase property in east london. Nothing too big, a one bedroom flat would suffice.

My second question is would it be more economical to purchase or rent a property at such a young age. I feel like I should go for the latter because I don't plan to stay for more than a few years in my first home. This is mainly because I plan to purchase a bigger home in a few years to support my future wife/child as my salary increases.

My final question is whether I can live comfortably on this salary even after I purchase property. I ask this because I have a girlfriend that I want to bring over from the Philippines and I may need to sustain her needs until she finds a job.

Thanks in advance!
HoldThisL
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
£40k is good for london you'll certainly be able to rent somewhere good+

you won't be able to buy anywhere even if you saved your entire annual salary for a year - no one could, unless you have savings

renting is essentially a waste of money, done for convenience/lack of savings to buy a place. although moving houses is expensive (agents/solicitor fees and tax etc), rent is lost money whereas a monthly mortgage at least goes towards buying something you can resell
Admit-One
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
For a mortgage from most highstreet lenders you're going to need a deposit of at least 10-15% of the property value.

So for a £300k flat you need to be able to put down between £30k-45k and that's before fees and appliances/furnishings.
ReadingMum
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by poohead23)
Hi,