Reenu Narayanan
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I am a non-native English speaker. I was brought up in Doha, Qatar. I completed my bachelors and masters degree from India. If I obtain a PGCE degree will this make me eligible to work in schools with British Curriculum?
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Reenu Narayanan)
I am a non-native English speaker. I was brought up in Doha, Qatar. I completed my bachelors and masters degree from India. If I obtain a PGCE degree will this make me eligible to work in schools with British Curriculum?
Are you thinking about schools in the UK or elsewhere?

In the UK, getting QTS, rather than the PGCE is key. This will open up a lot of doors to work in schools in the UK, whereas the PGCE is more of a bonus that will help your career.

If you are looking at schools outside the UK, they do usually want the PGCE.

Do bear in mind that to get on a PGCE course, it's likely you would need GCSE English language or the equivalent, if you don't already have it.
Reenu Narayanan
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
(Original post by SarcAndSpark)
Are you thinking about schools in the UK or elsewhere?

In the UK, getting QTS, rather than the PGCE is key. This will open up a lot of doors to work in schools in the UK, whereas the PGCE is more of a bonus that will help your career.

If you are looking at schools outside the UK, they do usually want the PGCE.

Do bear in mind that to get on a PGCE course, it's likely you would need GCSE English language or the equivalent, if you don't already have it.
Hello, Thank you for the reply. I am hoping to get a job in schools in UAE or Qatar. I found a college in India that offers PGCE(they are in collaboration with a university in UK). Before enrolling for the course I wanted to confirm whether the course will help me get a job as I am an Indian-born and not a native-English speaker. Kindly provide some confirmation on this.