On the verge of a nervous break down due to my degree

Watch
Anonymous1502
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I am a 1st year university student I am doing Russian and Chinese from absolute beginner level. I am having a really hard time, I feel like I am unable to converse in Russian as I am finding the grammar really difficult but I understand it a lot. While for Chinese I am having a hard time remembering the characters so I am finding reading and writing very hard. I feel so overwhelmed at this point and my anxiety levels are through the roof.

I am worried of my a level experience repeating where it took me 3 years to do them as I was doing so badly I had to drop 2 subjects as despite studying them the 2 years I had a really poor understanding and was failing so I had to do 2 new a level instead in 1 year.
Vapordave
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Sorry to hear you're having a hard time.
Have you heard of Heisig's Remembering the Hanzi? Combined with Anki that might help with Chinese
I'm not an expert so if you take a look at r/ChineseLanguage maybe that will give you more insight.
tinygirl96
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hugs
naeology
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hi, I’m so sorry you’re going through this at the moment! I understand where you’re coming from a little bit as I’m doing a Japanese degree and sometimes find the kanji difficult to remember

To remember grammar points I’ve been writing a diary entry daily in Japanese, and that way I’m going over grammar points pretty much everyday. Have you managed to make any friends in your Russian classes?? Sometimes just having a study buddy can relieve the stress a little bit, because as soon as you start to feel stressed and anxious it’s going to be harder for you to take information in.