The Student Room Group

Newcastle Malaysia or Monash Malaysia to study medicine?

Hi all! I am a private school student, towards the end of Alevels! confused on which university to pick to study medicine? Could you guys help especially those who graduated from either of these universities. I have a few questions here (as I don’t know anyone to ask from these universities). Would really help me if you could answer them! :smile:
1) is it true that if you study at Newcastle Malaysia, you have a chance to go abroad to UK in the period of your MBBS?
2) How are the lecturers honestly!! At Newcastle and Monash? (Depends where you are from/any experiences)
3) I heard that Newcastle Malaysia allows their graduates to do their housemanship in Australia? Is this true and how is the process like, is it guaranteed or just optional? Because I actually plan to do my housemanship abroad!!
4) For Monash Malaysia, is the syllabus really similar to the Monash Australia and again the teaching style is it good? Is it like cased based learning as well.
5) I understand for Monash Malaysia, you just get a 3 month opportunity to gain experience in Australia, but you have to return after that right? 6) Is there any case before that Monash Malaysia Medical students get to do their housemanship in Australia? (Really important for me to know because I heard from the admin staff this is possible if there’s a place?)
7) what does it mean when your MBBS degree is recognised abroad like Australia/UK? Can you directly work there even though after doing housemanship in Malaysia?