ex-cancer patient- can i handle PGCE?

Watch this thread
grachet1
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hey everyone,

So I went through cancer a few years back.
Since then, my fitness level is lower than the average person, and I need to take care of myself (eat well, sleep well).

I'm doing a master's degree at the moment and planning to apply for PGCE secondary in the following few months.

I've been reading a lot of posts saying how intense the PGCE programme is, but I do notice some people saying they had free time during the weekends. The reviews are so different that I'm not sure what to expect.

My 60 credit master's degree right now is quite intensive too, and I'm barely managing it; I don't have a social life to make sure I get all my readings done in time, I take good rest in the middle, I make sure I get 8 hours of sleep etc.

I really want to teach, so it would be a pity to drop out in the middle because of the intensity of the programme (since a lot of ppl seem to).

Any advice or opinion on this matter?
meaghan sharp
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 year ago
I think that it is quite intense, like your master's program. I wasn't able to keep up too much of a social life, but my dyslexia means that it takes me longer to do things than my peers.

my question to you is are there any providers that can allow you to study part-time? ie one term on one term off etc? Yes, it will take more time but if that is not a big barrier for you then it's worth it. if this was possible then the downtime between terms could be spent on self-initiated CPD on subjects etc that you struggled with or as a part pre-teach for yourself in prep for the next term.
AN K
Badges: 0
Rep:
Report 11 months ago