How are you supposed to write a dissertation on something that has no answer

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 11 months ago
I am doing Genetics. An important rule when formulating our dissertation titles was to come up with something that has not been answered in previous literature and ideally not even asked. I am just wondering how I should even begin writing an extensive essay on something that has had legitimately no research conducted on it and thus close to 0 materials available online. There is only so much that you can theorize before you end up writing an essay full of un-backed nonsense. Because of the situation, it's not like I can go out and conduct my own research (I wouldn't have been able to do this anyway because I'm a third year student, not a professor with full access to labs and resources and it's not like I can bring in a monkey from South America and extract its DNA for research etc).
mnot
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 11 months ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
I am doing Genetics. An important rule when formulating our dissertation titles was to come up with something that has not been answered in previous literature and ideally not even asked. I am just wondering how I should even begin writing an extensive essay on something that has had legitimately no research conducted on it and thus close to 0 materials available online. There is only so much that you can theorize before you end up writing an essay full of un-backed nonsense. Because of the situation, it's not like I can go out and conduct my own research (I wouldn't have been able to do this anyway because I'm a third year student, not a professor with full access to labs and resources and it's not like I can bring in a monkey from South America and extract its DNA for research etc).