Digital & Technology Solutions apprentices able to talk about your experiences?

Watch
someguynamedremy
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 months ago
Currently trying to decide between a CS degree and an apprenticeship in Software Engineering. I was wondering the following:

How much time was spent working vs studying?
What modules did you study as part of the apprenticeship?
Would you recommend it over a CS degree?
What projects did you work on?
helloman1
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
(Original post by someguynamedremy)
Currently trying to decide between a CS degree and an apprenticeship in Software Engineering. I was wondering the following:

I am a degree apprentice with Jaguar Land Rover doing the Digital Technology Solutions BSc Degree Apprenticeship.
In terms of time spent working vs studying it’s 80 vs 20 percent respectively. Basically all uni lectures are virtual at the minute due to COVID-19 and we have one week every four weeks doing university. We also get one day studying a week which is usually done at home. I am currently going into office and I would recommend it due to the work experience which is invaluable, debt-free degree and a salary which increases as you progress. In terms of modules we have studied so far we have done: Information Business Management Operations, Applied Maths (essentially Further Maths A Level Decision Mathematics and AS Level Statistics) and Smart Solutions Programming. We have also worked on a module known as ‘Personal Skills for Professional Excellence’ which is basically skills related to professionals. We have more modules for Y2, Y3 and Y4 of the course. Hope that answers your question - from what I’m aware JLR Degree Applications are open until 15 Feb 2021.
Final Fantasy
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
(Original post by someguynamedremy)