Interview at Surrey for Vet Med but I don't meet the admissions requirements?

Watch
MayaRich
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
I received an invitation for an interview last week, but I realized they require 5 GCSEs which I don't have. Only Maths & English, and I'm studying an Access Course.

What are my chances of admission? Has anyone been in the same boat? I'm wondering if they'll ask me to take the GCSEs (conditional offer?!)

I'm so stressed. :-(
vetstudent123
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
(Original post by MayaRich)
I received an invitation for an interview last week, but I realized they require 5 GCSEs which I don't have. Only Maths & English, and I'm studying an Access Course.

What are my chances of admission? Has anyone been in the same boat? I'm wondering if they'll ask me to take the GCSEs (conditional offer?!)

I'm so stressed. :-(
I doubt they would go to the effort of interviewing you if they were going to reject you based on your academic credentials. They would've just rejected you outright. It is possible they may ask you to resit, but they wouldn't ask you to do this during the vet course, so I'm not sure what they would be expecting of you (sorry I don't know how GCSEs work anymore regarding resits).

If you're super worried, I would contact the admissions and ask them what their plan is? But try not to stress because you have an interview!! If it leads to an offer, will having to resit something be an issue? I would try to focus on your interview for now because that's your main obstacle at the moment. Good luck!
TheWannabeFarmer
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
I got 3 offers and interviews from places that I didn't fully meet the requirements for - go for it - 4 years later they haven't kicked me out so bit late now
Scojen95
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by TheWannabeFarmer)