The Student Room Group

Paraphrasing code

So I am an A-level student studying computer science and I have a rubbish teacher. As I haven't done GCSE computer science I have no idea how to code yet, and I am in the process of learning at the moment.

The teacher has just given a big project to work on using OOP (I haven't learnt yet) , and we have been given some sample projects. I still want to do the project, so would it be wrong if I make the same project as the sample, but paraphrase and change the code significantly, keeping the algorithm behind it is exactly the same. I won't copy the code verbatim.
Reply 1
I mean, surely it should be clear from the homework what you need to do? Personally, I don't think changing one or two lines of code sounds like a project assignment, but you've not actually told us what the assignment is either...

Object orientated programming (OOP) is a style of programming. It has four main corner stones - abstraction, encapsulation, inheritance and polymorphism. With this style, you will write code with these 4 ideas in your mind. The intention is that your codes will be cleaner, easier to maintain and possibly faster. There are other styles of programming such as "functional programming".
Reply 2
package pakete;

import java.util.Scanner;

public class NewClass {

public static void main(String[] args) {
Scanner input = new Scanner (System.in);

String word;
String reverse = "";
System.out.print("Input a string = " );
word = input.nextLine();

for (int i = word.length()-1; i >=0; i--)
{

reverse = reverse + word.charAt (i) ;
}
System.out.println("Reversed string = " + reverse);
}
}
Reply 3
package pakete;

import java.util.Scanner;

public class NewClass {

public static void main(String[] args) {
Scanner input = new Scanner (System.in);

String word;
String reverse = "";
System.out.print("Input a string = " );
word = input.nextLine();

for (int i = word.length()-1; i >=0; i--)
{

reverse = reverse + word.charAt (i) ;
}