Quality tools - engineering (statistical analysis of data)

Watch this thread
Engineering20
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I’m an engineering student looking for help with understanding what quality tools I can use to analyse some data. I am comparing (Mutliple) defects between 2 materials over several weeks, and need an approach to compare the 2 materials to determine which one is associated with more defects overall.
Would a control chart be suitable for this?
Thanks for your help!
Last edited by Engineering20; 1 year ago
CoolCavy
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 year ago
Have moved this to the engineering forum for you

Smack do you have any advice?
Engineering20
Rep:
(Original post by CoolCavy)
Have moved this to the engineering forum for you

Smack do you have any advice?
Thanks!
Smack
Rep:
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Engineering20)
I’m an engineering student looking for help with understanding what quality tools I can use to analyse some data. I am comparing (Mutliple) defects between 2 materials over several weeks, and need an approach to compare the 2 materials to determine which one is associated with more defects overall.
Would a control chart be suitable for this?
Thanks for your help!
Do you have more information on the defects, material or components? I don't fully understand what you're asking. But if you've been taught control charts, then it's likely that that'll be the tool you're expected to use.
Engineering20
Rep:
(Original post by Smack)
Do you have more information on the defects, material or components? I don't fully understand what you're asking. But if you've been taught control charts, then it's likely that that'll be the tool you're expected to use.