therealmlg
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello, I just need a little help with understanding positive covenants.
If a covenantor has agreed with the covenantee to maintain a wall, would the covenantor be in breach of the covenant if the covenantee has maintained the wall instead?
Thanks!
tinygirl96
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hello. Unfortunately I have no real experience but my advice is to research contract law online and make some notes on your findings. Look at some information online on positive and negative covenants and also put it into your own words as far as possible here. Read beyond the lines of the information that is provided. Infer the deeper meaning. And see if your law textbook has any relevant case studies to use or not that may help you to write your essay. Good luck. I also recommend flashcards as well as a effective means of remembering and writing up information.
Lawschoolhack
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
If the wall have been allowed to fall into disrepair then the covenantor breached the covenant. Presumably the covenantee would be looking for the covenantor to indemnify him/her for the expense incurred.

Not 100% sure on this one.
therealmlg
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by Lawschoolhack)
If the wall have been allowed to fall into disrepair then the covenantor breached the covenant. Presumably the covenantee would be looking for the covenantor to indemnify him/her for the expense incurred.

Not 100% sure on this one.
Thanks for the info!

Would the same principles apply to positive covenants as restrictive covenants i.e. if the breach occurred for more than 20 years then it would be hard to enforce the breach against the covenantor?
Lawschoolhack
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago