The Student Room Group

Am I university material?

This will be long but please bare with me

So I have gotten good grades at school:
GCSE: 9999988888A
A level: A*AA (chemistry, biology, maths)

I have never been good with the stress of school and this manifested negatively in my mental health. I was diagnosed with autism right before I started uni and this explains why I’m not good with social situations. University is very social based though and if I struggle at this I don’t know if I’ll be able to make friends. My autism has left me with anxiety and depression so I panic over everything and my mood changes so fast. This has left me struggling to stay on top of my work at uni and struggling to be social.

However I want to make friends and I want to get a doctorate, but I don’t take tests well, my mind blanks. I dropped out of uni due to bad teaching and will reapply somewhere else onto an MSci. I want to succeed and find my course interesting. I’ve been told I’m smart enough for uni but sometimes I just feel so dumb. My short term memory and part is my working memory isn’t good it’s like having a computer with a huge hard drive but the downloading of data onto this drive is incredibly incredibly slow, and I can run out of time to learn everything as it takes me a lot longer.

Does anyone have any tips as to how I can make uni easier for myself? Am I the right kind of person to go to uni?
Reply 1
Well I'm exactly the same as you. Decent grades and autistic. I go to uni. Yeah it's hard but isn't everything? Make sure you get a dsa assessment so you get an ilsp. Make sure you get extra time in exams and anything else that'll make it easier. There's loads of autistic people at uni, in fact there are a few of lecturers that I suspect of being autistic. There's one autistic person who drinks their milk at a certain time each day in the jcr. No one cares. There's geeky societies you can get involved in too.
You can go to university and you should.