The Student Room Group

Biology hw help!!

I wasn't sure where to put this....im kind of new to tsr!!

Anyway i've got a past paper question for hw and dont how to write it.....i've answered the first part which the answer is the alveolus, part B then asks " describe the process by which gases are exchanged at the alveolus"

By the way this is the new ocr syllabus AS Biology and the this module is transport and exchange....I know the answer to the question is just i need a smaller answer that is worth 3 marks and i don't know how to shorten it into a sentence or to......and i have a maths test to revise for!! :frown:

I know i should do it myslf but if anyone here knows the answer and maybe come across it plz help....i'll be very greatful. THanks :biggrin:
Reply 1
I'd suggest the concise exam answer you require would be along the lines of:

"Gas diffuses across the moist (1 mark) surface of the alveolus. The rich vascular supply (1 mark) and single cell epithelium (1 mark) aids efficient diffusion, utilising a steep concentration gradient."

If you want to be sure, chuck in something to do with large surface area, or surfactant proteins on the inner membrane.

:smile:

EDIT: Re-read your post. If the question specifically asks "gases" (the plural) you may also want to write about 2 way gradient, high p02 to low p02 one way, high pCO2 to high pCO2 the other.
But for 3 marks, the above answer should be fine.
Reply 2
Diffusion Gradient?

High conc. CO2 in vessels so moves into alveolus.
High conc. O2 in alveolus so moves into blood vessels.

Something like that simplified.
well, if you bulletpoint all the main points and then select the most relevant 3, that should help.