user141173
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
Is it worth taking A level law if I would like to do a Law degree at university? I have heard bad things about taking law at A level if you are interested in persuing it at uni.
Harl1403
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
Hey!
I take a level law I’m in my 2nd year and I already have 2 offers to study it at uni and waiting on my other 3...
I have heard that people prefer you not to study a level law of doing it at degree... HOWEVER... the first thing my law teacher addressed is how utterly false this statement is and going through the course myself I completely agree! He also said how he believes more and more universities are now preferring students to study a level law...

I don’t see how I in anyway shape or form am at a disadvantage by studying the subject I will be taking on at degree level, literally to me now this statement sounds ludicrous and baffling.... is an English student at a disadvantage for doing a level English?? No, and neither is a law student!

That being said, it’s not a requirement to take it for university it’s any combination with essay subjects preferred! This is because some degree go back over a level topics such as the court systems. Some may say it’s boring going back over it but like ????? Really ???? It’s literally for a few weeks and you can ace that part because you already know it???? Plus the a level is not in as much detail as a degree is (obviously) so there may even be some new stuff.

On top of this, I know how to write a law essay. This is in that I already know cases and I already know how to apply the law in a given problem question - I don’t have to learn the structure of a law essay as I already have the fundamentals that my non a level law peers won’t have and I can continue to build on them!