ALEVEL CHEM difficult electrostatic forces question

Watch
lane_in_pain
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
What is the difference between electrostatic and magnetic forces?

I am an Alevel chemistry student and I know that this might also be a physics question, so I'm going to post this on both forums so that I can see the answer from different perspectives

thank you very much for reading :0:)
sym1105
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 8 months ago
(Original post by lane_in_pain)
What is the difference between electrostatic and magnetic forces?

I am an Alevel chemistry student and I know that this might also be a physics question, so I'm going to post this on both forums so that I can see the answer from different perspectives

thank you very much for reading :0:)
Electromagnetic forces happen between charged particles i.e. ions.
Magnetic forces happen between positive and negative objects.
The difference is that electromagnetic happens in everything that is charged whether it is moving or not, but magnetic forces only happen between moving objects. Everything has a electromagnetic force, but not all things have a magnetic force e.g. humans. Hope that helps!
lane_in_pain
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
(Original post by Samira Miah)
Electromagnetic forces happen between charged particles i.e. ions.
Magnetic forces happen between positive and negative objects.
The difference is that electromagnetic happens in everything that is charged whether it is moving or not, but magnetic forces only happen between moving objects. Everything has a electromagnetic force, but not all things have a magnetic force e.g. humans. Hope that helps!