attempt1
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi, I finished a psychology bachelor's degree last year and realized I'm more interested in pursuing a data analyst career (and maybe data science) compared to doing something psychology related.

I was considering either doing a one year masters data science program, or doing a second undergraduate degree majoring in statistics, what are your thoughts? What's the best way to become a data analyst with a psychology degree in your opinion?

(I live in New Zealand, hopefully this is the right place to post this in)

Thank you
hachin1
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by attempt1)
Hi, I finished a psychology bachelor's degree last year and realized I'm more interested in pursuing a data analyst career (and maybe data science) compared to doing something psychology related.

I was considering either doing a one year masters data science program, or doing a second undergraduate degree majoring in statistics, what are your thoughts? What's the best way to become a data analyst with a psychology degree in your opinion?

(I live in New Zealand, hopefully this is the right place to post this in)

Thank you
You can apply an entry DA position straightaway given that you already know statistics from your degree. Hands-on experience is always more important than studying the theory. Are you familiar with bi tools such as tableau or powerbi? It is way better to spend some time brush up the skills. You definitely need to know one or two visualization tools to get a job. Elementary SQL is another skill that you will need to know. Other than that you don't need much for an entry DA position.
attempt1
Rep:
?
(Original post by hachin1)