evaahiso
Badges: 8
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi, I’m a yr 12 student taking A-Level Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Computer Science. My target university is either Oxford or Cambridge, where I would like to study Computer Science.

I am considering switching from A-Level Computer Science to Classical Civilisation.
I’m finding that A-Level Computer Science is kind of boring (apart from the programming,obv the best part), and I also miss having a Humanities subject to alternate with when I need a rest from maths, as everything is getting a bit monotonous.

My questions are the following:
1) Do I have a higher chance of getting into Oxbridge for Computer Science if I take it at A-Level?
2)Is it too late into the year to switch subjects? (I wouldn’t mind catching up during xmas)
3) Back in yr10 a professor from Cambridge told me that as long as you demonstrate that you love Computer Science you don’t need to take it at A-Level. Does taking it demonstrate that you’re passionate about it or can you still demonstrate this with your own projects?
4) Is it better to have A-Level Physics or Computer Science? (to get into CompSci at Oxbridge)
5)Is the change worth it?

I might post some other questions if I remember anything else.

Thanks in advance.
Tello
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by evaahiso)
Hi, I’m a yr 12 student taking A-Level Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Computer Science. My target university is either Oxford or Cambridge, where I would like to study Computer Science.

I am considering switching from A-Level Computer Science to Classical Civilisation.
I’m finding that A-Level Computer Science is kind of boring (apart from the programming,obv the best part), and I also miss having a Humanities subject to alternate with when I need a rest from maths, as everything is getting a bit monotonous.

1) Do I have a higher chance of getting into Oxbridge for Computer Science if I take it at A-Level?