Living in Halls vs At Home (COVID Edition)

Watch
HeyImJack
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi,

I am a Year 13 student that is planning on going to university in 2021. I have been reading all of these student accommodation vs living at home posts - however not many of them have taken into account the covid pandemic.

I live about 50 minute train journey/30 minute drive (through a toll road) away, I currently have a job about 10 minutes up the road. I plan to study computer science.

My original plan was move out for the first year - get in the middle of the university ~vibe~ then move back home for my second year if I thought it was overrated. Accommodation prices are coming in at £180/week for on-site halls, so it’s a lot of money even with student loans helping towards it.

I won’t receive any bursary, but I have some savings.

My worry is moving out costs a lot, not many jobs are out there currently due to many places going bust and with my course being so easily adaptable into online content, is it even worth me moving out?

People who didn’t move out, do you regret it?
University of Portsmouth Student Rep
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by HeyImJack)
Hi,

I am a Year 13 student that is planning on going to university in 2021. I have been reading all of these student accommodation vs living at home posts - however not many of them have taken into account the covid pandemic.

I live about 50 minute train journey/30 minute drive (through a toll road) away, I currently have a job about 10 minutes up the road. I plan to study computer science.

My original plan was move out for the first year - get in the middle of the university ~vibe~ then move back home for my second year if I thought it was overrated. Accommodation prices are coming in at £180/week for on-site halls, so it’s a lot of money even with student loans helping towards it.

I won’t receive any bursary, but I have some savings.