Feeling guilty about missing university

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am currently in my first year of university. I have attended every lecture and am ahead on my assignments. However, I have experienced bad news. My nana has terminal cancer and probably won’t make it to Christmas and my other grandfather had a heart attack. Not only that; but I found out that my little sister won’t be able to make it into main stream school as she is not able to process information and is extremely behind on her learning. (Not because she hasn’t gone but because she struggled with taking on board infomation)

Anyway, I was supposed to be in university today. But asked if I could join online instead due to the fact I have to pick my grandmother up from hospital. Even though I have been joining online I haven’t taken in any of the information due to my head being so fried and ‘in the shed.’

But because I am not taking in the information I am missing it completely and feel extremely guilty.

I guess this post is for some clarification that it’s okay to take a break today considering the events.
username5490332
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
It’s okay. Everyone misses learning at some point, just use today to calm yourself down and focus on everything else apart from uni x
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by lilbabypenguin)
It’s okay. Everyone misses learning at some point, just use today to calm yourself down and focus on everything else apart from uni x
Thank you. Think I needed to hear someone else say it. Just get incredible guilt otherwise x
Anonymous #2
Report 1 month ago
First year is rather irrelevant in terms of education and even less so in terms of weighting.

Focus on your issues, turn your guilt into happiness if possible.

Best wishes x
hallamstudents
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Anonymous)