The Student Room Group

Feeling hopeless about my degree/career prospects...

I'm an international student in Malaysia and I take the IB. I went into the IB planning to pursue Law and I picked the following subjects:

HL History, Language and Literature, Economics
SL: Math AA, Biology, Spanish B

Even though I have a 7 in every subject (the highest score one can get) I feel so depressed and hopeless. I wish I had picked science/math subjects so I could have received some more respect (and I'm also talented at STEM subjects).

I know that it's incredibly difficult to:
1. get entrance into a top Law uni (I'm afraid my subject combo will look bad)
2. Land a training contract (especially for an international student like myself)

Are there any other options I could pursue with my current subject combo? If I wanted to pursue something other than a legal career with an LLB, what professions would be possible?

Thank you!
Original post by deathray65
I'm an international student in Malaysia and I take the IB. I went into the IB planning to pursue Law and I picked the following subjects:

HL History, Language and Literature, Economics
SL: Math AA, Biology, Spanish B

Even though I have a 7 in every subject (the highest score one can get) I feel so depressed and hopeless. I wish I had picked science/math subjects so I could have received some more respect (and I'm also talented at STEM subjects).

I know that it's incredibly difficult to:
1. get entrance into a top Law uni (I'm afraid my subject combo will look bad)
2. Land a training contract (especially for an international student like myself)

Are there any other options I could pursue with my current subject combo? If I wanted to pursue something other than a legal career with an LLB, what professions would be possible?

Thank you!

The good point is that you can apply for a place and only come if you have a uni you wish to go to. Your combo is more or less irrrelevant plus its fine.