Report 1 month ago
Oxford don't accept transfers :no:
mnot
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by mobuh)
Hello. If anyone who's very knowledgeable about how Oxford deals with these situations could give me their opinion on the following, I would really appreciate it.

Some context:

I had my eyes set on Oxford back in year 9, when I went on a school trip which was a part of the 'Gifted and Talented Students' programme at my school. I consistently revised 8-13 hours per day for months leading up to my GCSE exams and attained 8 A*s and 3 As, with 2 of those GCSE's being self-taught. (Further Maths, A*, and Law, A).

My mental health swan-dived during college and I fell short of my predicted A Level grades of A*A*AA, attaining AAB in Maths, Physics and Chemistry respectively, and D in an AS Level Further Maths(I dropped the Further Maths A Level for Further Maths AS as a result of my mental health worsening). Needless to say, I was rejected by all of the universities I had applied to , with the exception of Bristol and Southampton. I didn't apply to Oxford because I was told that Oxford = Humanities and Cambridge = STEM (obviously, I now see that this is not true).

I took a gap year while my mental health took it's time bottoming out and then rebounding. Due to a very long, unnecessary series of unfortunate events, I ended up at the University of Surrey studying Maths in Sept. of 2019. I didn't want to be there or be studying Maths, but due to reasons too tangential to explain, I continued with my studies hoping that I would start again on Computer Science next year.

So, here I am, having started my 1st year of Computer Science at Surrey in Sept. of 2020. As unsatisfying as my story thus far may be, I now finally feel ready to continue along my original trajectory, with the ambition I once had, which I have now recovered. I feel a burning desire that was never fulfilled, which was to study at Oxford as my 13 year old self had envisioned.