Logic Gate Design

Watch this thread
Wael46
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm New to the logic gate, and I am a bit confused about how it works can anyone advise me on what to do regarding this :Name:  Logic gate.jpg
Views: 104
Size:  97.0 KB
Last edited by Wael46; 1 year ago
LuigiMario
Badges: 19
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 year ago
You have to consider , logically, the table of inputs and that desired output. And flow the signals through from input to output, like a puzzle.

“Logic gates” as such are rather old-fashioned, I’d implement this warning system inside a PLC , (programmable logic controller using ladder logic), but the gates do still exist, in logic.
I might implement it with an open source Arduino, with a Relay shield - that’s fairly good for home experimentation with logic & inputs & components - very cheap & fun to play with....great Xmas present!

So you have to workout what combination of AND , OR thoughts will get you to a situation where W is either buzzing ‘alarm’ or being silently watchful.

(They often throw-in the negative or inverse logic functions, NAND, NOR, [in the past I made NOT gates by blowing-up one of the CMOS silicon chips, whatever input you give that, you’d get no output whatsoever] you probably won’t need my version of NOT gates in this design, but the original idea of simply inverting using a NOT)

So consider that you might need to invert one signal, and draw up a few versions on scrap A4, then try to reduce the complexity, it’s simple - once you think like a machine!

Helpful page to get you started at university of Surrey
http://www.ee.surrey.ac.uk/Projects/...sfunc/#notgate

Good luck
Last edited by LuigiMario; 1 year ago
X

Quick Reply

Attached files
Write a reply...
Back