JulesM1122
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi,

I am a mature student who wishes to do an Adult Nursing Degree. Ideally I would like to go down the Registered Nurse Degree Apprenticeship route but the last in-take in my area saw 600 applicants for 40 places so I am not holding out much hope!

I have Level 2 Maths and English, GCSE's in English and Science and an AS Level in English Language. I am also studying a Level 3 Advanced Apprenticeship Diploma in Senior Support Work through the hospital where I work as a Health Care Assistant.

Is it possible to discuss this directly with the Universities that run the course or is it set in stone that you need certain A Levels in order to be accepted?

I would be potentially looking at the following unis -

Plymouth
Southampton
Bournemouth
Brighton

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Jules
Emily_B
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
There are no A level requirements for nursing. Some universities demand A level biology which may be replaced by sociology or psychology but this is a university thing not an NMC requirement.
Your best option is to look at university entry requirements on their website for nursing degrees. This tells you what they commonly accept for A level/level 3 equivalent (and GCSE English/Maths which is usually C/4+ but you've already got these). Getting in contact with the universities you're looking at would also be a good idea to discuss various optins.
JulesM1122
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by Emily_B)
There are no A level requirements for nursing. Some universities demand A level biology which may be replaced by sociology or psychology but this is a university thing not an NMC requirement.