Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, looking into getting a laptop but not really sure what i need for it? Im also a novice when it comes to computers and computing terms and such like.

What sort of features does yours have/ you want it to have?

Im getting it for university, so really just need something to browse the internet, get on msn/email, play footy manager and play music... oh aye, and studying.

How much ROM/RAM/memory do i need/want?

Graphics card? Will this be necessary for a laptop that i dont really need to play games more intense than footy manager?

CD/DVD reader/writer? I think i will want these :yep: (maybe not a writer though??)

Battery life - What is a good life for a laptop?

Other suggestions?

Also, what size? Weight and screen, obviously it would be helpful for it to be as light as possible and have a decent sized screen, but what is decent/light?

Thanks for any help. :yep:

ReputationRep:
    i dont know about graphics card to play football manager but, check their minimum requirements and then try looking for a laptop that has a gpu that is around 2x better than its minimum requirments... 2gb ram is more than enough for a vista-32bit laptop, CD/DVD writer is you preference... Battery life, unfortunately most laptops wont let you get on with it for more than 2hrs without battery (depending on your consumption) but this is answered by articles if you just search on google.

15" screen size is good for mobility, and as well as convenience, the smaller your screen, the lesser ergonomic it is... especially if you're grinding on essays.
    but id say look for a laptop that you like, check any ratings... and then come and ask... you need to state your budget as well.

preferrably
    15"
    around 2ghz dual core2(or similar architecture)
    2gb ram
    GPU depends on the games you play

what about a dell insprion? check the dell website for more info.

ReputationRep: