mahxe
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'm an undergraduate maths student on an integrated masters course. I'm really interested in the pure side of maths and it seems a shame to give it up next year when I feel as though I've barely scratched the surface. Therefore I'm really interested in doing a Phd, however, I am aware that pure maths is virtually useless as a career skill and I'm worried that undertaking this Phd will irreversably damage my career.
It's a huge amount of money lost in missed earnings and a huge amount of time lost in potential work experience.
Will a Phd help me get a better job afterwards? Or would I still be in the same boat as regular graduates? Should I do a Phd?
PhoenixFortune
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by mahxe)
I'm an undergraduate maths student on an integrated masters course. I'm really interested in the pure side of maths and it seems a shame to give it up next year when I feel as though I've barely scratched the surface. Therefore I'm really interested in doing a Phd, however, I am aware that pure maths is virtually useless as a career skill and I'm worried that undertaking this Phd will irreversably damage my career.
It's a huge amount of money lost in missed earnings and a huge amount of time lost in potential work experience.
Will a Phd help me get a better job afterwards? Or would I still be in the same boat as regular graduates? Should I do a Phd?
You think about whether a PhD will actually help you to get the career you want, or whether you are happy to research pure Maths for the love of it. I would recommend you get some work experience in various positions before committing to the idea of a PhD, as it's a huge time and financial commitment if it doesn't end up helping you at all.
mnot
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by mahxe)
These are a lot of the mental arguments I wrestled with when looking at a PhD a couple years ago (I’m now doing an engineering PhD).