What can you do if you have a degree in a field you no longer want to work in?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Sorry if this is the wrong forum. I'm doing a Biomedical Science degree. I'm in third year, so there's no point dropping out or anything. But I hate it so much. I chose to do an Applied Science BTEC when I left high school because I genuinely really did enjoy science in high school, and while there were other subjects I enjoyed equally, I wasn't passionate about anything in particular and science was the one with the best employment opportunities.

I enjoyed it slightly less so in college, but it's not like you can go to uni for anything other than a science degree after that. And now I just genuinely really hate my course. I still enjoy the theory, I like learning about things. It's just that in order to do that you have to do experiments and data analysis which I can't stand. And obviously, that's what any job within the sector would entail. I don't want to do that. I want to graduate and never have to use R studio or do an ANOVA test again.

I feel jealous of the people who did humanities or arts degrees. I liked those subjects equally, and if I had made different choices after high school I probably would have ended up studying English or Media Studies and I would be so much happier. I realise it's my fault for not dropping out in first year, but I kept thinking things would get better. They didn't. So obviously I'm going to finish my degree but I'm probably gonna get a 2:2 or under so it's not like I'd have good prospects even after uni.

But TLDR, my question is: what do I do after uni if I don't want to work in the industry? I know you can't do a second undergraduate degree. But is there some kind of postgraduate 'here's what you missed' course for other subjects (wishful thinking, I know). Or do I just have to act like I never got a degree at all, and go for entry-level jobs in unrelated fields?
BlueEyedGirl_
Badges: 13
Rep:
?