yoyo1230
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
So I'm a 2020 graduate from a Russell group uni with a 2:1 in economics and accounting. I didn't apply for positions in final year as I was unsure on what I wanted to do and have been struggling to get a graduate job since.

I applied for big4 consulting but have been rejected from them all so I think big 4 audit is a more realistic goal. My situation is I cant apply for big4 audit for 2021 intake now but i have been offered an ACA audit position with a top 15 firm.

Is the 'big 4 experience' worth the wait of an extra year for a potential job offer or am i better taking the offer I have?
Last edited by yoyo1230; 1 month ago
ajj2000
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
When does the grad scheme you have been offered start? When would the big 4 scheme start were you to be successful - sept 21?

Do the big 4 firms still have open places to apply for sept 21?

Which city would you apply for? Is it the same location as your current offer?
SomeWelshGuy123
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by ajj2000)
When does the grad scheme you have been offered start? When would the big 4 scheme start were you to be successful - sept 21?

OP said they've been rejected so the earliest they can apply is either Spring next year, if they're lucky or September next year for a 2022 start. Best bet is to just accept the offer, you can always move into B4 later if you want.
yoyo1230
Rep:
?

Also sept 2021 start, I’m unable to apply for big4 2021 I take due to the failed consulting applications.

Top 15 firm is in my local city about an hour from London, would be keen to move to London ideally.

Really just looking to get my career off to the best start I believe I could reasonably achieve and ideally would like to move into consulting further down the line
yoyo1230
Rep:
?
(Original post by SomeWelshGuy123)