Chances of me failing?

Watch
bassplayer347
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I've got a Grade 7 music exam tomorrow (bass guitar performance certificate), and I'm feeling pretty good about it, but part of me is so nervous about failing it - I know it sounds silly but I've never done a Grade before, and being in Year 13, practising for it wasn't really my priority until a couple of weeks ago.

Three of my pieces are fine - I wouldn't say they're 'perfect' but I'm very happy with how I play them and my teachers agree.

The other two are also good, except there's 1-2 really fast sections in both of them that I can sometimes nail after lots of warm-up, but they're still pretty rough. These are just two-bar fills though and I'm hoping the rest of the pieces will help my mark.

This was a kinda nervous rant, but... anyone done a Rockschool Bass exam before? What was your experience like? Did you do better/worse than you thought?

Appreciate any responses xxx
summerberry19
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by bassplayer347)
I've got a Grade 7 music exam tomorrow (bass guitar performance certificate), and I'm feeling pretty good about it, but part of me is so nervous about failing it - I know it sounds silly but I've never done a Grade before, and being in Year 13, practising for it wasn't really my priority until a couple of weeks ago.

Three of my pieces are fine - I wouldn't say they're 'perfect' but I'm very happy with how I play them and my teachers agree.

The other two are also good, except there's 1-2 really fast sections in both of them that I can sometimes nail after lots of warm-up, but they're still pretty rough. These are just two-bar fills though and I'm hoping the rest of the pieces will help my mark.

This was a kinda nervous rant, but... anyone done a Rockschool Bass exam before? What was your experience like? Did you do better/worse than you thought?

Sorry I’m really late!

How was your exam?
bassplayer347
Rep:
?