The Student Room Group

Getting into Teaching Maths

hi I am in my last 40s and have always loved maths. I want to get into teaching maths but don't have a Maths degree. I am a CIMA qualified accountant. would that be a problem in terms of would I be able to teach maths without a maths degree?
im pretty sure you can teach maths without a maths degree yes, my gcse teacher has a chemistry degree

you may not be able to teach A level maths, i don't know, but either way you'd still have teaching training
Original post by Jpworse
hi I am in my last 40s and have always loved maths. I want to get into teaching maths but don't have a Maths degree. I am a CIMA qualified accountant. would that be a problem in terms of would I be able to teach maths without a maths degree?

What other qualifications do you have? As a minimum, you do require an undergraduate degree in something and a GCSE (or equivalent) in maths and English. If some of the modules you studied were maths-related, that would help too, but experience can often make up for that. It would also help if you have an A-level in maths.

Different training providers will have different expectations, so it's a good idea to check their course pages and/or phone to see if your qualifications would be sufficient. I know the training provider I was with only required an A-level, while others expected at least half of the degree content to be maths-related - though as I said, some might waive this if you have many years of industry experience. Generally, I think training providers do like people that have come from industry, as they have more practical experience with the subject and this can be really valuable.
You may be able to teach adults in a college instead.
Original post by Jpworse