What to do with my money?

Watch
Theking997
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi, I am in my first year of university and have around £3k saved and I don't know what to do with them. I don't really have any expenses since I live at home, with my parents, and access my university learning material online due to COVID-19. I will also be getting some more money in January from Student Finance. I was thinking about investing my money but I don't want to take any risks, I also have a student bank account that gives me around 1% AER on balances up to £2.5k. All advice is much appreciated.
Peter Barlow
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Do you drive? If not you could learn with it
It you do get a cool car with it
tinygirl96
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Here are a few options

Option A- open a student bank account (recommended highly)
Option B- have a savings tin etc (not the best option)
Option C- spend it all (ill advised choice)
Option D- get advice first then save it (better option)

It is up to you to decide what to do.
Maxistan YT
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by tinygirl96)
Here are a few options

Option E - if you are feeling a bit pekish just eat it
Theking997
Rep:
?
Here are a few options

Thanks for your reply. I already have a student bank account, I get around 1% AER each year on balances up to £2.5k. I was thinking about investing it, but I am worried about the risk involved.
Theking997
Rep:
?
(Original post by Peter Barlow)
Do you drive? If not you could learn with it
It you do get a cool car with it
I already have a driving license, got it when I was 17. I also had a car, drove it for around 2 years, but sold it recently because I didn't really use it that much and insurance is expensive.
Le_WildPathogen
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Invest in index funds (I.e. s&p 500). Low risk and decent return based on history.
tinygirl96
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Good luck
Kutie Karen
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago